The Parker Quartet - The New York Times captures the essence of The Parker Quartet, extolling that “passages that demand ensemble precision were flawlessly balanced, perfectly tuned and sheathed in lustrous textures.” This brilliant, youthful string quartet won the Grammy for Best Chamber Music Performance in 2011 and now brings its brilliance to the intimate stage of the Downtown Concert Series.

Parker Quartet
Daniel Chong, violin
Karen Kim, violin
Jessica Bodner, viola
Kee-Hyun Kim, cello

String Quartet No. 23 in F Major, K. 590 — Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
I. Allegro Moderato    
II. Allegretto
III. Minuetto: Allegro
IV. Allegro
String Quartet No. 2, ‘Intimate Letters’ — Leos Janacek
I. Andante  
II. Adagio
III. Moderato
IV. Allegro
String Quartet No. 3 in A Major, Op. 41 No. 3 — Robert Schumann
I.  Andante espressivo – Allegro molto moderato  
II. Assai agitato
III. Adagio molto
IV. Finale: Allegro molto vivace

The Parker Quartet, May 5

Program is subject to change.